Compagnie des Indes Jamaïca 5 years Navy Strength 57° France

62,90  Bottle

Coming soon

Out of stock

7,39  5 cl sample

In stock

Compagnie des Indes Jamaica 5 years Navy Strength 57°: Description and customer reviews

Compagnie des Indes Jamaica 5 years Navy Strength is one of the blends of the brand created by Florent Beuchet : conditioned at 57°, this rum is made without any added sugar.
It is also the expression of the island's terroir thanks to the selection of distilleries operated by the bottler.

“Navy strength” spirits, all at 57° , served as a daily ration for Her Majesty’s sailors. This high titration in fact protected the gunpowder taken on board the ships from possible clumsiness on the part of the sailors: even if some was poured on it, it continued to be combustible.
This rum is also the expression of the island's terroir thanks to the selection of distilleries operated by the bottler.

This traditional rum won the gold medal in its category at the 2015 Paris Rum Fest.

Nico's tasting notes

As with the smaller versions of this same rum, the banana dominates the nose. It's sometimes dried, sometimes cooked; we can also imagine its skin abandoned and blackened. The nose is greedy, and we can't wait to chew this rum. This heavy profile gains even more mellowness with a brioche well inflated by yeast. A cup of tea smokes next to this brioche, with a little marzipan in the cup.
With a little aeration, the rum reveals a softer character. The banana fades a little to make way for coconut and dried orange zest. It's still pastry, but the atmosphere is less heavy, more spicy and chocolaty. Exotic fruits rush in, blowing away the freshness of pineapple and mango. After a little rest, the thickness of the first nose returns, balanced by a herbaceous, resinous accent.

On the palate, the rum is lively and "in-your-face", both smoky and metallic. The storm has deposited a lovely dried banana flavor on the taste buds. The resin is still there, sticking and numbing the tongue. The finish oscillates between baker's yeast and a fresh, herbal tea bag.

To conclude the tasting, we have a fruit cake and marzipan competing for a full finish.

"This blend, which brings together several facets of Jamaica, is as gourmand as it is powerful, simply delicious..."

4 opinion

  1. lhussiez herve

    You have to prepare...the first tasting, a small sip it clearly warms the taste buds, a little burn...but then the tasting turns into a good treat and you don't get bored, I expected that and I appreciate. This is another great discovery.

  2. Othman Asmami

    A delicious rum with complex and surprising aromas! I really liked it!

  3. ERIC

    RAS ..................

  4. Detree SEBASTIEN

    I LOVE IT! lively, fruity and very easy to drink!

Be the first to review “Compagnie des Indes Jamaica 5 years Navy Strength 57°”

Leave a visitor review

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

If you like it, we recommend :

  • A little more power...
  • A well-executed blend...

Compagnie des Indes Jamaïque 5 ans Navy Strength 57°

56,90  Bouteille

En stock

6,96  Échantillon 5 cl

En stock

Compagnie des Indes Jamaïque 5 ans Navy Strength 57° : Description et avis clients

Compagnie des Indes Jamaïque 5 ans Navy Strength est un des blend de la marque créée par Florent Beuchet : conditionné à 57°, ce rhum est réalisé sans aucun ajout de sucre.
Il est aussi l’expression du terroir de l’île grâce à la sélection des distilleries opérées par l’embouteilleur.

Les spiritueux « Navy strength », tous à 57°, servaient de ration quotidienne aux marins de Sa Majesté. Ce titrage élevé préservait en effet la poudre à canon embarquée à bord des navires des éventuelles maladresses des matelots : même si on en versait dessus elle continuait à être combustible.
Ce rhum est aussi l’expression du terroir de l’île grâce à la sélection des distilleries opérées par l’embouteilleur.

Ce rhum traditionnel a remporté la médaille d’or de sa catégorie lors de l’édition 2015 du Rhum Fest de Paris.

La note de dégustation de Nico

Comme pour les versions plus réduites de ce même rhum, c’est la banane qui domine au nez. Elle est tantôt séchée, tantôt cuite ; on imagine aussi sa peau abandonnée et noircie. Le nez est gourmand, on a hâte de mâcher ce rhum. Ce profil lourd gagne encore en moelleux avec une brioche bien gonflée par la levure. Une tasse de thé fume près de cette brioche, avec une petite pâte d’amande dans la coupelle.
Avec un peu d’aération le rhum dévoile un caractère plus trempé. La banane s’efface un peu pour laisser place à la noix de coco et au zeste d’orange séché. C’est toujours pâtissier mais l’atmosphère est moins lourde, plus épicée et chocolatée. Les fruits exotiques s’engouffrent et soufflent la fraîcheur de l’ananas et de la mangue. Après un peu de repos, l’épaisseur du premier nez revient, équilibrée par un accent herbacé et résineux.

En bouche le rhum est vif et « rentre-dedans », il est à la fois fumé et métallique. La tempête a déposé une belle saveur de banane séchée sur les papilles. La résine est toujours là, elle colle et engourdit la langue. La fin de bouche oscille entre la levure de boulangerie et un sachet de thé bien frais et végétal.

En conclusion de la dégustation, nous avons un cake aux fruits et de la pâte d’amande qui se disputent une finale bien pleine.

« Cet assemblage qui rassemble plusieurs facettes de la Jamaïque est aussi gourmand que puissant, simplement délicieux… »

Avis

Il n’y pas encore d’avis.

Be the first to review “Compagnie des Indes Jamaïque 5 ans Navy Strength 57°”

Laissez un avis visiteur

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Si vous aimez, nous vous recommandons :