Foursquare

Foursquare

The history of Foursquare

Foursquare is a family-owned and independent distillery in the Read more

The history of Foursquare

Foursquare is an independent, family-owned and operated distillery in Barbados, run by the Seale family since its inception... Read more

The history of Foursquare

Foursquare is an independent, family-run distillery in Barbados, managed by the Seale family since its inception. As early as 1883, Reginald Leon Seale trained in the art of blending rums. He founded his first company, R.L. Seale & Co. in 1926, to market the Calypso brand. At that time, distilleries in Barbados were forbidden to sell their own rums. They were sold on the local market via bottlers or independent brands. As far as Europe was concerned, they were sold to brokers who supplied independent bottlers, mostly British.

Reginald Clarence took over from his father in 1946, before handing over to his son David in 1969. Richard Seale, the present illustrious owner, joined the company in 1992. He soon acquired the Doorly's and Old Brigand brands. These rum blends are produced at WIRD (West Indies Rum Distillery), as R.L. Seale & Co did not yet distil its own rums.

The construction of the Foursquare distillery started in 1996, on the site of the former sugar-distillery of the same name, which had closed in 1984. This young distillery has a very modern and efficient configuration.

The rums of Foursquare

Foursquare produces molasses rums. This is diluted and fermented.er with yeast imported from South Africa, in 400 hectolitre vats.ttions, These include a fermentation mother tank. Fermentation takes place in two stages: first the temperature of the tank is controlled with part of the wort to be distilled. Then, once the right temperature has been reached, it is gradually raised over a period of 20 hours, while the rest of the molasses to be fermented is gradually added.

Distillation is carried out with the help of two devices. On the one hand there is a triple Coffey column, which can work with two columns if required. These columns work under vacuum, so they can distil at low temperatures and thus preserve a maximum of aromas. The first column is made of two parts, stainless steel and copper. The other two columns are made of stainless steel with copper trays. The last (rectification) column has 40 trays and the distillate obtained is 94% proof.

Dn the other hand, there is a a pot-still with a small column, 2 retorts and 2 condensers. The parts of this custom still were made in Scotland, Italy and Barbados.. During the distillation process, the distillation, 30% of the brouillis is distilled in the first retort, then redistilled to 78-80%. The most aromatic rums are obviously produced in this Caribbean pot-still.

Ageing as a key element

The identity of the Foursquare distillery's rums lies precisely in the blending of these two types of distillates, which are blended before being put into casks. The distillery mainly produces aged rums. Almost all of its production is smoked, after having been reduced to 65%.

The Cellar is impressive and caters for the many brands bottled on Foursquare. These include Doorly's, R.L. Seale's, Sixty Six or Real Mc Coy, as well as the bottlings bearing the name of the distillery. There were 14,000 casks in 2014, a figure that is constantly increasing (there is talk of 40,000 by 2020!).

The classic house style is achieved after aging in old bourbon barrels. But Richard Seale likes to experiment with double maturation. This is a return to the roots, because before the 1950s, rums were mainly aged in wine casks exchanged with the old continent. Like Doorly's XO (bourbon cask and oloroso sherry cask), the rums of the Foursquare brand benefit from double maturation, in port, sherry or Madeira casks for example.

The exceptional cask series, and especially the rough casks like the 2005 vintage, have set a sort of standard for the category.

Richard Seale is a fervent defender of authentic rums, and has found an alter-ego in Luca Gargano de Velier. This friendship has led to several famous collaborations, such as Triptych, Destino, and Plenipotenziario. Read less

Brands
Regions
Categories
Price
Degree
Age
Vintage
Capacity
Packaging
Profile
Special feature

Foursquare

Foursquare

L’histoire de Foursquare

Foursquare est une distillerie familiale et indépendante de la Barbade, gérée depuis ses débuts par la famille Seale. Dès 1883, Reginald Leon Seale se forme à l’art de l’assemblage des rhums… Lire plus

L’histoire de Foursquare

Foursquare est une distillerie familiale et indépendante de la Barbade, gérée depuis ses débuts par la famille Seale. Dès 1883, Reginald Leon Seale se forme à l’art de l’assemblage des rhums. Il fonde sa première entreprise, R.L. Seale & co en 1926, pour commercialiser la marque Calypso. À l’époque, à la Barbade, les distilleries avaient l’interdiction de vendre leurs propres rhums… Lire plus

L’histoire de Foursquare

Foursquare est une distillerie familiale et indépendante de la Barbade, gérée depuis ses débuts par la famille Seale. Dès 1883, Reginald Leon Seale se forme à l’art de l’assemblage des rhums. Il fonde sa première entreprise, R.L. Seale & co en 1926, pour commercialiser la marque Calypso. À l’époque, à la Barbade, les distilleries avaient l’interdiction de vendre leurs propres rhums. Ceux-ci s’écoulaient alors sur le marché local via des embouteilleurs ou des marques indépendantes. En ce qui concerne l’Europe, ils étaient vendus à des courtiers qui fournissaient des embouteilleurs indépendants, surtout britanniques.

Reginald Clarence prend la suite de son père en 1946, avant de passer la main à son fils David en 1969. Richard Seale, l’illustre propriétaire actuel, entre dans la société en 1992. Ce dernier rachète rapidement les marques Doorly’s et Old Brigand. Ces assemblages de rhums sont produits à la WIRD (West Indies Rum Distillery), car R.L. Seale & Co ne distille pas encore ses propres rhums.

La construction de la distillerie Foursquare commence alors en 1996, sur le site de l’ancienne sucrerie-distillerie du même nom, qui avait fermé ses portes en 1984. Cette jeune distillerie dispose alors d’une configuration très moderne et efficiente.

Les rhums de Foursquare

Foursquare produit des rhums de mélasse. Celle-ci est diluée et mise à fermenter à l’aide de levures importées d’Afrique du Sud, dans des cuves de 400 hectolitres, parmi lesquelles on compte une cuve mère de fermentation. La fermentation se déroule en deux temps : on contrôle d’abord la température de la cuve, avec une partie du moût à distiller. Puis, une fois la température convenable atteinte, on l’élève petit à petit durant une période de 20 heures, tout en ajoutant progressivement le reste de mélasse à fermenter.

La distillation s’effectue à l’aide de deux appareils. Il y a d’un côté une triple colonne Coffey, qui peut selon les besoins fonctionner avec 2 colonnes. Ces colonnes fonctionnent sous vide, elles peuvent donc distiller à basse température et ainsi conserver un maximum d’arômes. La première colonne est constituée de deux parties, en inox et en cuivre. Les deux autres sont en inox, avec des plateaux en cuivre. La dernière colonne (de rectification), comporte 40 plateaux et le distillat obtenu titre à 94 %.

D’autre part, il y a un alambic pot-still avec une petite colonne, 2 retors et 2 condenseurs. Les pièces de cet alambic personnalisé ont été fabriquées en Ecosse, en Italie et à la Barbade. Lors de la distillation, le brouillis sort à 30 % dans le premier retors, puis il est redistillé pour s’écouler à 78-80 %. Les rhums les plus aromatiques sont évidemment produits dans ce pot-still caribéen.

Le vieillissement, élément clé

L’identité des rhums de la distillerie Foursquare réside justement dans l’assemblage de ces deux types de distillats, assemblés avant la mise en fût. La distillerie produit essentiellement des rhums vieux. La quasi-totalité de sa production est enfûtée, après avoir été réduite à 65 %.

Le chai est impressionnant et répond à la demande des multiples marques embouteillés à Foursquare. Parmi elles, Doorly’s, R.L. Seale’s, Sixty Six ou Real Mc Coy, ainsi que les embouteillages portant le nom de la distillerie. On y comptait 14.000 fûts en 2014, un chiffre en constante augmentation (on parle de 40.000 en 2020!).

Le style classique de la maison est obtenu après vieillissement en ancien fût de bourbon. Mais Richard Seale aime expérimenter la double maturation. C’est d’ailleurs un retour aux sources, car avant les années 1950, les rhums étaient surtout vieillis dans des fûts de vins échangés avec le vieux continent. À l’image du Doorly’s XO (fût de bourbon et fût de sherry oloroso), les rhums de la marque Foursquare bénéficient ainsi souvent de doubles maturations, en fût de porto, de sherry ou de madère par exemple.

La série des « exceptional casks », et surtout les bruts de fûts comme le millésime 2005, ont établi une sorte de standard pour la catégorie.

Richard Seale est un fervent défenseur des rhums authentiques, et a trouvé un alter-ego en la personne de Luca Gargano de Velier. Cette amitié a donné lieu à plusieurs collaborations fameuses, comme le Triptych, le Destino, ou encore le Plenipotenziario. Lire moins

Filtrer de produits Affichage 1 - 24 de 41 résultats
Tri
Âge
Pack
Profil
Particularité
Coups de cœur
Degré
Prix