Kilchoman Machir Bay 46° (see map)

Weight ND
Capacity

70 Cl

Degree

46

Age

no mention

Packaging

Case

Profile

Fruit - Smoke - Iodine - Plants

Category

Whisky

59,90  Bottle

In stock

Only 5 left in stock

7,18  5 cl sample

In stock

Kilchoman Machir Bay 46°: Description and customer reviews

Kilchoman Machir Bay is a single malt, a blend of vintages aged 80% in bourbon casks and 20% in oloroso sherry casks.

Machir Bay is a pretty, unspoilt bay on the west coast ofIslay. It has a sandy beach and is close to the Kilchoman distillery. Small rivers with picturesque names flow into the bay, such as Allt na Criche and Allt Gleann na Ceardaich...

This whisky is not chill-filtered.

Tasting notes from Thomas

The nose is both typically insular and rather rounded. The first impression is of iodized, slightly vegetal and smoky peat. Then, cooked white fruits add a touch of sweetness. These are covered with a light film of vanilla sugar and sprinkled with lemon. After a few moments, slivered almonds and white flowers provide a little contrast.

The palate is in the same spirit. The texture is silky and the peat is slightly smokier, still iodized and, this time, enriched with lightly burnt aromatic herbs. The part that coats the palate still comes from vanilla-sweetened white fruits. The second part of the palate gains licorice and camphor as well as a few lemons (preserved, juice).

The finish is well supported by a peat that has become more vegetal (seaweed, camphor), but we're still sailing in iodized, sweet waters. The aromatic herbs, vanilla sugar and lemon juice are then retained by our taste buds.

"A peaty whisky, well iodized and softened by vanilla sugar fruits... "

Opinions

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Kilchoman Machir Bay 46°”

Leave a visitor review

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

If you like it, we recommend :

  • A whisky that brings sweetness to peaty territory...
  • The same whisky with 2 glasses...
  • A whisky that turns purity into an art...

Kilchoman Machir Bay 46°

Format

,

Contenance

70 cl

Degré

46

Âge

sans mention

Packaging

Étui

Profil

Fruits - Fumée - Iode - Végétal

Catégorie

Whisky

53,90  Bouteille

En stock

6,75  Échantillon 5 cl

En stock

Kilchoman Machir Bay 46° : Description et avis clients

Kilchoman Machir Bay est un single malt, assemblage de cuvées vieillies à hauteur de 80% dans des fûts ayant hébergé du bourbon, et pour 20% dans des fûts de sherry oloroso.

La baie de Machir est une jolie baie sauvage localisée sur la côte ouest de l’île d’Islay. Elle possède une plage de sable fin et se situe à proximité de la distillerie Kilchoman. De petites rivières aux noms pittoresques s’y jettent telles Allt na Criche et Allt Gleann na Ceardaich…

Ce whisky n’est pas filtré à froid.

Note de dégustation de Thomas

Le nez est à la fois typiquement insulaire et assez arrondi. On peut tout d’abord évoquer une tourbe bien iodée, légèrement végétale et fumée. Ensuite, ce sont les fruits blancs cuits qui apportent un peu de douceur. Ceux-ci sont couverts d’une légère pellicule de sucre vanillé et sont arrosés de citron. Après quelques instants, des amandes effilées et des fleurs blanches offrent un petit peu de contraste.

La bouche est dans le même esprit. La texture est soyeuse et on découvre une tourbe légèrement plus fumée, toujours iodée et, cette fois, enrichie d’herbes aromatiques légèrement brûlées. La part enrobant le palais provient toujours de ces fruits blancs au sucre vanillé. La seconde partie de bouche gagne de la réglisse et du camphre ainsi que quelques citrons (confits, jus).

La finale est bien portée par une tourbe devenue plus végétale (algues, camphre) mais on navigue toujours dans des eaux iodées et sucrées. Les herbes aromatiques, le sucre vanillé et le jus de citron sont alors conservées par nos papilles.

«Un whisky tourbé, bien iodé et adouci par les fruits au sucre vanillé...  »

Avis

Il n’y pas encore d’avis.

Be the first to review “Kilchoman Machir Bay 46°”

Laissez un avis visiteur

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Si vous aimez, nous vous recommandons :