Latitudes Grand Arôme de la Baie du Galion 60°

47,90  Bottle

Coming soon

Out of stock

6,32  5 cl sample

Coming soon

Out of stock

Latitudes Grand Arôme de la Baie du Galion 60°: Description and customer reviews

Grand arôme de la baie du Galion rum is a tradition that dates back to the end of the 19th century.

It's the result of a unique method, the fermentation of sugarcane molasses and vinasse, to obtain an extraordinary aromatic concentration.

This fermentation is further enhanced by the distillery's own ecosystem of indigenous yeasts and bacteria. No additives are added, as the environment of the wooden vats is sufficient to provoke natural, spontaneous fermentation.
The fermentation room is a sacred and fragile place, which explains why only a handful of initiates are allowed inside.

To our knowledge, this is the first time this rum has been bottled as such for the public, its high aromatic power having hitherto been used only by blenders wishing to enhance their rums. In fact, it can be enjoyed as a tasting rum, in a tulip-shaped glass.

Beyond its deliciousness, aromatic richness and historical significance, it is the only rum of its kind on an island known for the excellence of its rhum agricole.

Nico's tasting notes

On the nose, the aromatic power is immediately apparent. There's a floral concentration, with geranium; fruity and iodized, with green olive; but also animal and smoky. Bitter almond then marks a turn towards something more pastry-like, like a kirsch-like cherry stone brandy.
The resting period sees the rum become considerably rounder, with a clear gain in deliciousness. Candied fruit and raisins now dominate, confirming its pastry character. The sweetness of almond brings an almost buttery, brioche-like, honeyed mellowness. While olive, resin and copper still rumble at the slightest turn of the glass, very ripe, even past-ripe exotic fruits take on a fuller character.

The palate is invasive and thick, with a rather round attack that gives way to a powerful, concentrated mid-palate. Exotic fruits (banana, very ripe mango, pineapple...) are fermenting, with a lovely acidity. The salt from the olive in brine keeps up the greediness of the fruit, which continues to swell, supported by a texture that is now drier and more coppery. The wine oscillates between pastry (raisins and prunes) and something animal, almost smoked meat.

The finish is very long and persistent, with a cherry pit that comes to the fore, again kirsch-style.

6 opinion

  1. Excellent - everything went very smoothly, I would recommen

    un tré bon rome avec bocou darome et bocou de parfin je le reucommande.

  2. Sebastien Swynghedauwe

    An exceptional rum, to taste it is to adopt it.
    I can't live without it.

  3. Babulal Gopalsing

    Interesting to see some unique Grand Aromes from Martinique finally available. Compared to the 46% aged version of this expression, this is much more powerful in it's aroma and palette - making it a more enjoyable drink overall.
    One to try for Grand Arome fans, but Savanna & the Jamaican distillers are still well ahead.

  4. Benjamin Guthmann

    A pure killer. One of the best great aromas!

  5. odile GIRAUD

    but nothing more.

  6. Michèle GILLET

    Good for you

Be the first to review “Latitudes Grand Arôme de la Baie du Galion 60°”

Leave a visitor review

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

If you like it, we recommend :

  • There are many similarities, notably between olives and this other, more reduced, great white aroma...
  • An explosion of tropical fruits for this great Reunion aroma, aged 10 years in a humid cellar...

Latitudes Grand Arôme de la Baie du Galion 60°

47,90  Bouteille

En stock

6,32  Échantillon 5 cl

En stock

Latitudes Grand Arôme de la Baie du Galion 60° : Description et avis clients

Le rhum grand arôme de la baie du Galion est une tradition qui remonte à la fin du XIXème siècle.

Il est issu d’une méthode unique, fruit de la fermentation de mélasse de canne à sucre et de vinasses, dans le but d’obtenir une concentration aromatique hors du commun.

Cette fermentation se fait en outre grâce à un écosystème de levures indigènes et de bactéries propres à la distillerie. Aucun ajout n’est effectué car l’environnement des cuves en bois suffit à provoquer une fermentation naturelle et spontanée.
La salle de fermentation est donc un endroit sacré et fragile à la fois, ce qui explique que seule une poignée d’initiés puisse y pénétrer.

À notre connaissance, c’est la première fois que ce rhum est embouteillé tel quel pour le public, son haut pouvoir aromatique ayant été jusqu’ici utilisé uniquement par les assembleurs désirant rehausser leurs rhums. Il peut en effet se déguster comme un rhum de dégustation, dans un verre tulipe.

Au-delà de sa gourmandise, de sa richesse aromatique et de sa portée historique, il est le seul rhum de ce type sur une île connue pour l’excellence de son rhum agricole.

La note de dégustation de Nico

Au nez, la puissance aromatique s’exprime dès les premiers instants. On y trouve une concentration florale, sur le géranium ; fruitée et iodée, avec de l’olive verte ; mais aussi animale et fumée. L’amande amère marque ensuite un tournant vers quelque chose de plus pâtissier, comme une eau-de-vie de noyau, de cerise façon kirsch.
Le repos voit le rhum s’arrondir considérablement, il gagne franchement en gourmandise. Ce sont maintenant les fruits confits et les raisins secs qui dominent, le registre pâtissier se confirme. La douceur de l’amande apporte un moelleux presque beurré, brioché et miellé. Alors que l’olive, la résine et le cuivre grondent toujours au moindre tour de verre, les fruits exotiques très mûrs voire passés prennent une belle ampleur.

La bouche est envahissante et épaisse, avec une attaque plutôt ronde qui laisse place à un milieu de bouche bien puissant et concentré. Les fruits exotiques (banane, mangue très mûre, ananas…) sont entrés en fermentation, avec une jolie acidité. Le sel de l’olive en saumure entretient la gourmandise des fruits qui ne cessent de gonfler, soutenus par une texture qui est maintenant plus sèche et cuivrée. On oscille alors entre la pâtisserie (raisins secs et pruneaux) et quelque chose d’animal, presque sur la viande fumée.

La finale est très longue et persistante, avec un noyau de cerise qui se met bien avant, toujours façon kirsch.

5 avis

  1. Sebastien Swynghedauwe

    Un Rhum exeptionnel, le gouter c'est l'adopter.
    je ne peux plus m'en passer.

  2. Babulal Gopalsing

    Interesting to see some unique Grand Aromes from Martinique finally available. Compared to the 46% aged version of this expression, this is much more powerful in it's aroma and palette - making it a more enjoyable drink overall.
    One to try for Grand Arome fans, but Savanna & the Jamaican distillers are still well ahead.

  3. Benjamin Guthmann

    Une pure tuerie. Un des meilleurs grand arome !

  4. odile GIRAUD

    sans plus.

  5. Michèle GILLET

    C'est bien

Be the first to review “Latitudes Grand Arôme de la Baie du Galion 60°”

Laissez un avis visiteur

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Si vous aimez, nous vous recommandons :

  • Une explosion de fruits tropicaux pour ce grand arôme de la Réunion, vieilli 10 ans en chai humide...
  • Beaucoup de similitude notamment l'olive avec cet autre grand arôme blanc, plus réduit...