Plantation Rum 1995 Long Pond STCE Antipodes 69°.

309,00  Bottle

In stock

16,83  Sample Glass 3 cl

In stock

Plantation Rum 1995 Long Pond STCE Antipodes 69°: Description and customer reviews

This Plantation brand Jamaican molasses rum comes from the Long Pond distillery. It is a limited-edition cuvée.

The rum was distilled in 1995 in a John Dore pot still, after a two-week long fermentation. This was enriched with dunder and muck. The mark is STCE, and this cuvée has an ester content of 690 grams per hectoliter of pure alcohol.

The first aging period lasted 23 years in a bourbon barrel in a tropical climate. The rum was then transferred to the cellars of Château de Bonbonnet, where it rested for 4 years in a Ferrand cognac barrel.

Each bottle is numbered.

Nico's tasting notes

On the nose : solvent, concentrated, extremely ripe exotic fruit; there's no doubt we've arrived in Jamaica. This rum plays all the classic notes of its style, from heady tropical orchard to banana bread, to the leathery, powdery, tobacco-scented naval officer's desk.

Aeration tends to harmonize things, and we find ourselves with a typical "Navy" rum, i.e. full-bodied, fruity, spicy, evolving in a cloud of gunpowder. The interaction with the wood was truly beneficial, as the distillate's full-bodied character remained intact, while gaining a beautiful patina that reinforces its intensity while rounding it out.

On the palate, the rum is as full-bodied as expected, with an explosion of powder and copper whose cloud is studded with cherry pits and prunes. The fruit is more concentrated than colored, reduced to a juice as thick and dark as molasses. A roasted imprint begins to impose itself on the palate, like a charred barrel, adding to the overall mineral impression.

The finish is long and very "navy", with minerality and overripe exotic fruit.

"A Jamaican who makes the powder speak, and who is directly in the tradition of English Navy Rum..."

Opinions

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Plantation Rum 1995 Long Pond STCE Antipodes 69°”

Leave a visitor review

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

If you like it, we recommend :

  • A Jamaican rum from the same year...
  • Discover the famous Navy style...

Plantation Rum 1995 Long Pond STCE Antipodes 69°

309,00  Bouteille

En stock

16,83  Sample Verre 3 cl

En stock

Plantation Rum 1995 Long Pond STCE Antipodes 69° : Description et avis clients

Ce rhum de mélasse jamaïcain de la marque Plantation provient de la distillerie Long Pond. Il s’agit une cuvée éditée en édition limitée.

Le rhum a été distillé en 1995 dans en alambic pot still de marque John Dore, après une fermentation longue de deux semaines. Celle-ci a été enrichie de dunder et de muck. Le mark est STCE, et cette cuvée affiche un taux d’esters de 690 grammes par hectolitre d’alcool pur.

Le premier vieillissement a duré 23 ans dans un fût de bourbon sous un climat tropical. Le rhum a ensuite été transféré dans les chais du château de Bonbonnet où il a reposé 4 ans dans un fût de cognac Ferrand.

Chaque bouteille est numérotée.

La note de dégustation de Nico

Au nez : du solvant, de la concentration, du fruit exotique extrêmement mûr ; pas de doute, nous sommes bien arrivés en Jamaïque. Ce rhum joue toutes les partitions classiques de son style, passant ainsi du verger tropical entêtant au banana bread, en passant le bureau des officiers de marine qui sent à la fois le cuir, la poudre et le tabac.

L’aération a tendance à harmoniser les choses, et l’on se retrouve avec un rhum typé « Navy », c’est-à-dire corsé, fruité, épicé, évoluant dans un nuage de poudre à canon. L’interaction avec le bois a été vraiment bénéfique, car le caractère bien trempé du distillat est resté intact tout en gagnant une belle patine qui renforce son intensité en même temps qu’il l’arrondit.

En bouche, le rhum se montre aussi corsé que prévu, avec une explosion de poudre et de cuivre dont le nuage est constellé de noyaux de cerises et de pruneaux. Les fruits sont plus concentrés que colorés, ils sont réduits en un jus aussi épais et foncé que la mélasse. Une empreinte torréfiée commence quant-à-elle à s’imposer en bouche, comme un fût carbonisé, ce qui rejoint l’impression minérale de l’ensemble.

La finale est longue et très « Navy », avec de la minéralité et du fruit exotique bien trop mûr.

« Un jamaïcain qui fait parler la poudre et qui s’inscrit directement dans la tradition du Navy Rum à l’anglaise… »

Avis

Il n’y pas encore d’avis.

Be the first to review “Plantation Rum 1995 Long Pond STCE Antipodes 69°”

Laissez un avis visiteur

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.

Si vous aimez, nous vous recommandons :

  • Un rhum jamaïcain de la même année...
  • Pour découvrir le fameux style de la Navy...