Centenario Limited Edition 1985 43

55,90  Bottle

In stock

Only 4 left in stock

6,89  Sample 5 cl

In stock

Centenario Limited Edition 1985 43°: Description and customer reviews

Centenario Limited Edition 1985 is the second batch of a special cuvée originally presented in 2020 to commemorate the 35th anniversary of the Costa Rican brand. Its distillery, FANAL (Fabrica Nacional de Licores), has been in operation since 1910 and has been producing Centenario rum since 1985.

This rum is made from sugarcane molasses. It is distilled both in columns and in iron stills.

Centenario rums are typically aged in old bourbon casks, to which a little sugar is added. But for this cuvée, Susana Masis, the house's maestra ronera, selected a special batch of old casks that had contained Scottish Highland whisky. The casks were stored in a rather unusual winery, located in the heart of a Costa Rican forest.

Nico's tasting notes

The nose is a patchwork of roasted notes, dominated by well-toasted nuts. They spin and melt into coffee powder and toasted oak dust. A trickle of fruit in syrup flows over the wood, with a slightly acidic sweetness.

Aeration reveals typical American oak, with vanilla, coconut, blond tobacco and much softer woody notes.

On the palate, the rum is rather light, with fruit notes quickly overlaid by a round wave of vanilla. The texture is soft and thick, and the palate is nicely coated. The nuts are reminiscent of the roasted aromas seen on the nose, like a well-caramelized nougatine.

The finish is light, the oak settling gently on the tongue.

"A rum that is both light and round, tenderly coated with sweet spices..."

1 opinion

  1. Damien Chatonnet

    Excellent

Be the first to review "Centenario Limited Edition 1985 43°" ("Centenario")

Leave a visitor review

Your email address will not be published.

If you like it, we recommend :

  • A complete, varied, round but balanced rum...

Centenario Édition limitée 1985 43°

52,90  Bouteille

En stock

6,68  Échantillon 5 cl

En stock

Centenario Édition limitée 1985 43° : Description et avis clients

Centenario Édition limitée 1985 est une cuvée spéciale qui commémore le 35ème anniversaire de la marque costaricienne. Sa distillerie, la FANAL (Fabrica Nacional de Licores), est en activité depuis 1910. Elle produit donc le rhum Centenario depuis 1985. Ce rhum a été élaboré à partir de mélasse de canne à sucre. La distillation se fait à la fois en colonne et en alambic à repasse.

Les rhums Centenario sont typiquement vieillis en anciens fûts de bourbon, dans lesquels ont ajoute un peu de sucre. Mais pour cette cuvée, Susana Masis, maestra ronera de la maison, a sélectionné un lot particulier d’anciens fûts ayant contenu du whisky des Highlands écossais.

La note de dégustation de Nico

Le nez est un patchwork de notes torréfiées, avec une dominante de fruits à coques bien toastés. Ils filent et se fondent en poudre de café, ou encore en poussière de chêne grillé. Un filet de fruits au sirop coule sur le bois, avec une douceur légèrement acidulée.

L’aération nous détaille un chêne américain typique, avec de la vanille, de la noix de coco, du tabac blond et boisé bien plus tendre.

En bouche, le rhum se montre plutôt léger, avec des notes de fruits très vite recouvertes d’une vague ronde de vanille. La texture est douce et épaisse, et le palais se retrouve joliment enrobé. Les fruits à coque rappellent les arômes de torréfaction vus au nez, comme dans une nougatine bien caramélisée.

La finale est légère, le chêne se dépose doucement sur la langue.

« Un rhum à la fois léger et rond, tendrement enrobé d’épices douces… »

Avis

Il n’y pas encore d’avis.

Be the first to review “Centenario Édition limitée 1985 43°”

Laissez un avis visiteur

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Si vous aimez, nous vous recommandons :