HSE Extra Old Whiskey Kilchoman Cask Finish 2014 44°

Weight ND
Capacity

50 Cl

Degree

44

Age

++

Vintage

2014

Packaging

Case

Profile

Wood - Sweet spices - Fruit - Smoke - Plants

Category

Rhum - Rhum pur jus de canne

70,90  Bottle

In stock

Only 2 left in stock

9,99  5 cl sample

In stock

HSE Extra Old Whiskey Kilchoman Cask Finish 2014 44°: Description and customer reviews

HSE Extra Vieux Whisky Kilchoman Cask Finish 2014 is an agricultural rum that combines the flavors of Martinique rum with the peaty, smoky notes of Scotch whisky.

After distillation in October 2014 in a copper Creole column from the Simon distillery, this rum was aged in oak barrels for 5 years. It was then finished for 4 to 5 months in ex-Kilchoman peated whisky casks, under the expert eye of cellar master Lionel Lampin. These casks come from a family-run single malt distillery on the west coast of Islay.

A batch of 10 barrels was bottled in January 2021, delivering a total of 5,500 worldwide.

Nico's tasting notes

The nose opens with an eminently fruity register, which comes as something of a surprise, given the peaty finish, which a priori prepared us for a more largely smoky profile. Very ripe, fragrant apples rub shoulders with dried fruits such as apricot, and are accompanied by juicy pears.

Aeration takes the fruit away for a while, and a darker cloud settles over the glass. It's loaded with warmed wood and smoke, but without the gimmickiness sometimes associated with this kind of finish. In no way does the peat take precedence; it merely adds depth and rigor to this rum with its gourmand cravings for caramelized nuts and dried fruit.

On the palate, the cane juice seems to have crossed a peat bog on its way to the distillery. The harmony seems strangely obvious and natural, as the pepper of the bagasse bonds lovingly with the vegetal of the peat. Tannins bring a breath of freshness to the mid-palate, before the rum swells with greed, gaining a fatter texture and flavors of chocolate-covered nuts.

The finish is slightly ashy, and the harmony between fresh cane and peat continues for a long time.

"An elegant approach, and a harmony between cane and peat that becomes obvious..."

Opinions

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “HSE Extra Vieux Whiskey Kilchoman Cask Finish 2014 44°”

Leave a visitor review

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

If you like it, we recommend :

  • Gentle work with peat...
  • Mauritian know-how combined with Scottish expertise...

HSE Extra Vieux Whisky Kilchoman Cask Finish 2014 44°

Poids ND
Contenance

50 cl

Degré

44

Âge

++

Millésime

2014

Packaging

Étui

Profil

Bois - Épices douces - Fruits - Fumée - Végétal

Catégorie

Rhum - Rhum pur jus de canne

67,90  Bouteille

En stock

Plus que 3 en stock

9,69  Échantillon 5 cl

En stock

HSE Extra Vieux Whisky Kilchoman Cask Finish 2014 44° : Description et avis clients

HSE Extra Vieux Whisky Kilchoman Cask Finish 2014 est un rhum agricole qui allie les saveurs du rhum martiniquais aux notes tourbées et fumées du whisky écossais.

Après une distillation en octobre 2014 dans une colonne créole en cuivre de la distillerie du Simon, ce rhum a été élevé en fûts de chêne durant 5 ans. Il a ensuite bénéficié d’une finition de 4 à 5 mois dans des ex-fûts de whisky tourbé Kilchoman, sous l’oeil expert du maître de chais Lionel Lampin. Ces fûts proviennent d’une distillerie familiale de whisky single malt, installée sur la côte ouest de l’île d’Islay.

Un lot de 10 fûts a été embouteillé en janvier 2021, délivrant un total de 5500 exemplaires pour le monde.

La note de dégustation de Nico

Le nez s’ouvre sur un registre éminemment fruité, qui surprend dans une certaine mesure, étant donné le finish tourbé qui nous préparait à priori à un profil plus largement fumé. Les pommes très mûres et parfumées côtoient des fruits secs comme l’abricot, et s’offrent la compagnie de quelques poires juteuses.

L’aération éloigne les fruits durant un temps, et un nuage plus sombre vient se poser au-dessus du verre. Il est chargé de bois chauffé, de fumée, mais sans le côté gadget parfois associé à ce genre de finish. La tourbe ne prend en aucun cas le pas, elle ne fait qu’apporter profondeur et rigueur à ce rhum aux envies gourmandes de fruits à coque caramélisés et de fruits secs.

En bouche, il nous semble que le jus de canne a traversé une tourbière alors qu’il cheminait jusqu’à la distillerie. L’harmonie qui opère semble étrangement évidente et naturelle, car le poivre de la bagasse se lie d’amour avec le végétal de la tourbe. Les tanins amènent un souffle de fraîcheur en milieu de bouche, avant que le rhum ne se gonfle de gourmandise en gagnant une texture plus grasse et des saveurs de fruits à coque enrobés de chocolat.

La finale est légèrement cendrée, l’harmonie entre la canne fraîche et la tourbe continue de faire son effet pendant un long moment.

« Une approche tout en élégance, et un accord entre la canne et la tourbe qui devient évident… »

Avis

Il n’y pas encore d’avis.

Be the first to review “HSE Extra Vieux Whisky Kilchoman Cask Finish 2014 44°”

Laissez un avis visiteur

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.

Si vous aimez, nous vous recommandons :

  • Le savoir-faire mauricien conjugué avec celui de l'Ecosse...
  • Un travail en douceur autour de la tourbe...